Trustees Honored During School Board Recognition Month

January is School Board Recognition Month and CFBISD is proud to celebrate our trustees for their dedication and commitment to the district's schools, students, staff and community! The theme of this year’s School Board Recognition Month is “Forward, Together”, which highlights the collaboration among school leadership, teachers, and parents on behalf of students.

Dan Troxell, executive director of the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), applauded the efforts of trustees in providing leadership and good governance so that school districts can focus on educating the 5.4 million public school children in their care.

“Texas school boards are critical to the success of students and the future of Texas,” Troxell said. “Boards lead their districts in the right direction, providing oversight, setting goals, overseeing the budget, and selecting and evaluating the superintendent. These volunteers serve for the betterment of their local schools and communities.”

Board members serving CFBISD are: Dr. Les Black (President), Sally Derrick (Vice President), Cassandra Hatfield (Secretary), Carolyn Benavides, Kim Brady, Ileana Garza-Rojas, and Tara Hrbacek.

To learn more about each School Board member, please visit the Board of Trustees Bios webpage.  To learn more about school board service, please visit

Our School Board members are selfless volunteers who spend long hours working to ensure all of our students have the opportunity to learn and grow. Thank you, CFB School Board, for all that you do!