Meet the Department: After the Bell

After the Bell program is responsible for providing a safe, nurturing environment for Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD students from dismissal time until 6 p.m. This staff serves parents in the school district who need child care after the regular school day has ended. 

“I am honored to join site directors who are certified teachers that go beyond the normal school day,” said Dr. Janet Restivo, Director of After School Programs. “They educate the children, keep them safe and make sure they are happy.”

After the Bell has licensed and exempted sites.  The directors and aides must follow health and safety requirements set by the Texas Health and Human Services and complete their training and CPR certification. All discipline given to students  is respectful, caring and never punitive. The staff communicates frequently with parents, keeping them aware of events going on each day.

“At After the Bell, we provide extraordinary communication to our parents,” Restivo said. “We always try to meet the needs of our community.” 

The program allows students to engage in a variety of activities that continue their learning and development. They can work on homework, do arts and crafts projects, read and participate in recreational activities to keep them active. Snacks are also provided to students.

During the summer and holiday breaks, programs are available for students to attend throughout the day. Summer field trips are a big hit. The program has taken students on field trips to Sandy Lake, Hawaiian Falls, Fort Worth Zoo, Studio Movie Grill and more. Residents of CFBISD are invited to send their children to these programs, even if their child does not attend a school within the district.

Students with special needs from pre-kindergarten through extended high school are always included in the program. The department accommodates all student needs and makes sure they can participate in activities. 

The department currently has more than 190 staff members including the director, secretary, site directors, teacher tutors, clerks, nurses and aides. There are 19 campuses across the district with site directors at each location.

  • Dr. Janet Restivo, Director of After School Programs

  • Leta Clark, Secretary

  • Lana Alexander, Blair ES

  • Stacey Baker, Blair ES

  • Marcy Howe, Carrollton ES

  • Olga Quintero, Carrollton ES

  • Rosalinda Ford, Central ES

  • Erika Saunders, Central ES

  • Dessa Bentley, Country Place ES

  • Minette Gossett, Davis ES

  • Melissa Clark, Farmers Branch ES

  • Angela Bennett, Furneaux ES

  • Eva Crawford, Good ES

  • Michelle Martinez, Las Colinas ES

  • Vanita Krouch, La Villita ES

  • Maral Aznavour, McCoy ES

  • Heidi Caywood, McCoy ES

  • Arturo Cervantes, McKamy ES

  • Stephen MacAdams, McWhorter ES

  • Deanne Baker, Rainwater ES

  • Dana Ozyp, Rainwater Special Needs

  • Jeffrey Heine, Riverchase ES

  • Kevin Martin, Sheffield ES

  • Tulia Chong, Strickland ES

  • Jackie Shaffer, Thompson ES

  • Kathleen Nosek, Turner HS

  • Venus Thomas, Turner HS

Interesting Facts:

  • Many of the ATB aides get hired to serve in full-time roles within the district

  • There are currently more than 1,200 students enrolled in the program

To learn more about the After the Bell department, please visit their website.