CFBISD Students Selected as National Merit Finalists

Each year, students from across the country participate in the National Merit® Scholarship Program, an academic competition for recognition and scholarships. Beginning in 1955, Approximately 1.5 million high school students enter the program each year. 

Of the over 1.5 million candidates, some 50,000 with the highest PSAT scores qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program. In September, these high scorers are informed through their schools that they have qualified as either Commended Scholar or Semifinalists.

According to the National Merit website, about 16,000 students get a notification that they have qualified as Semifinalists. Students in the Carrollton-Farmers Branch Independent School District that qualified as semifinalists were honored at our public school board meeting. Semifinalists are the top-scoring participants in each state.

In February, some 15,000 Semifinalists receive an announcement that they have advanced to Finalist standing. High school principals are given a Certificate of Merit to present to each Finalist.

We are proud to announce our CFBISD finalists and their schools:

Creekview High School

  • Kathleen Ready

Newman Smith High School

  • Rahul Karthi

R. L. Turner High School

  • Jara Chandler
  • Joseph (Joey) Davis
  • Nicholas Rao
  • Sarah Shepherd

All winners of Merit Scholarship awards are selected from the Finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments—without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

Congratulations to all of our National Merit Finalists. Your hard work and dedication to your education have paid off. We look forward to following your success after graduating from CFBISD.