CFBISD Educational Foundation awards nearly 35,000 in innovative grants

On January 8, the Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD Educational Foundation surprised teachers and staff with grants to support innovative classroom projects ranging from sustainable gardens to career exploration. Members of the foundation joined by CFBISD administrators, community partners, donors and superintendent Dr. Wendy Eldredge delivered 14 innovative grants totaling $34,534.

“The Educational Foundation is thrilled to fund these fantastic initiatives and programs that our CFBISD teachers are doing to help their students,” said Donna Wald, Executive Director of the Educational Foundation. “We want to congratulate all of this year’s recipients and send a special thank you to all of our donors and community partners who helped fund these grants.”

CFBISD Educational Foundation awards nearly 35,000 in innovative grants

This year’s innovative grant recipients were located at a variety of campuses and district offices including Blalack MS, Creekview HS, Good ES, Freeman ES, McCoy ES, Polk MS, Ranchview HS, Turner HS and the fine arts, college career and military readiness and health services departments. 

“It brings tears to my eyes to see our kids loving these programs that our teachers have created for them,” said Dr. Wendy Eldredge. “These teachers have found something that our kids love and have asked the Educational Foundation to help grow those initiatives. It’s great to see the way these grants make learning fun and engaging for our students.”

CFBISD Educational Foundation awards nearly 35,000 in innovative grants

The innovative grants provide funding up to $1000 for individual initiated programs or funding up to $5000 to campus teams and departments. The number of awards depends on funds available to the CFBISD Educational Foundation. All employees of the CFBISD are eligible to apply.

The foundation would like to thank the following donors and community partners for helping fund these grants to our deserving CFBISD teachers and staff. 

  • Credit Union of Texas

  • Perdue, Brandon, Fielder, Collins & Mott Attorneys At Law

  • Candi and Mel Brekhus – Kacie Brekhus Memorial Endowment


  • Indeco

  • TXU

  • CoServ

  • CBS Roofing

  • EMA Engineering and Consulting

  • Linenmeyr Munroe

2023-24 Innovative Grant Award Winners:






Aurora St Laurent 

Improving Outcomes and Confidence of Bilingual Students - Sponsored by the Law Offices of Perdue, Brandon, Fielder, Collin and Mott



Carla Trammel

Learning for All - Sponsored by CoServ


Good ES - Grant I

Betsy Gould, Stephanie Quiles, Nydia Chavarria, Sarah Rahimi, Anyela Alonso

IB Ambassador - Sponsored by Credit Union of Texas


Good ES - Grant II

Diana Lacy; Joanna Martinez and Lyanne Miller; Tarah Jones; Thuy Doan; Soo Bin Lee

Elementary Athletics


McCoy I

Ashten Ordmandy, LaShandralyn Harrison and Susie Beetem

The BEAR Initiative


McCoy II

Katie Cannon and Jessica Petrie

Tower Garden Hydroponics - Sponsored by CoServ



Jessica Steele

School Garden Bed - Sponsored by CoServ


Creekview I

Ronnell Eddings

Black Hist. Thru Eyes of Dancer - Sponsored by Credit Union of Texas


Creekview II

Carlos Fuentes

Transportation Technology Service Initiative



Ivonne Canterbury and Natalia Flores

Bee Bots - Sponsored by the Kacie Brekhus Memorial Endowment


Fine Arts

Mark Rowher

Mariachi Ensemble Teacher Training - Sponsored by Credit Union of Texas



Madison Wynne

Farm to Table Project - Sponsored by the Law Offices of Perdue, Brandon, Fielder, Collin and Mott



Leslie Halencak; Evelyn Lucas; Mallory Nolen

Sensory Square - sponsored by the Kacie Brekhus Memorial Endowment 



Sandra Lieck

Leadership and Quality Promotion Project 


CFBISD Educational Foundation awards nearly 35,000 in innovative grants

To view a video recap of the foundation delivering innovative grants, please click on this video link.

For more information about innovative grants or to learn about the application process, please visit the CFBISD Educational Foundation website.