National Merit Scholarship Program

[Carrollton, TX] The Carrollton-Farmers Branch Independent School District has six seniors that have been selected as 2021 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists and eight students selected as National Merit Commended Scholars by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. CFBISD also had one student named a National Merit Semifinalist in 2020 from R. L. Turner High School.

Student selection is based on the students' scores on the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. National Merit Semifinalists represent less than one percent of United States high school seniors. These CFBISD students will have the opportunity to continue in the program and compete for scholarships, which will be awarded in the spring to National Merit Finalists.

CFBISD's 2021 National Merit Semifinalists are: 

Creekview High School in Carrollton

  • Kathleen Ready, National Merit Semifinalist Senior
  • Aidan Hawkins, National Merit Commended Scholars Senior
  • Conall Hawkins, National Merit Commended Scholars Senior

Newman Smith High School in Carrollton

  • Rahul Karthi, National Merit Semifinalist Senior
  • Jacob Von Tress, National Merit Commended Scholar Senior

R. L. Turner High School in Carrollton

  • Isha Murugesan, 2020 National Merit Semifinalist - graduated May 2020
  • Jara Chandler, National Merit Semifinalist Senior
  • Joseph Davis, National Merit Semifinalist Senior
  • Nicholas Rao, National Merit Semifinalist Senior
  • Sarah Shepherd, National Merit Semifinalist Senior
  • Ankitha Doma, National Merit Commended Senior
  • Julian Guerrero, National Merit Commended Senior
  • Anupam Khan, National Merit Commended Senior
  • Esmeralda Rizo, National Merit Commended Senior

Ranchview High School in Irving

  • Ahan N. Mistry, National Merit Commended Senior

CFBISD is proud of these students' hard work and dedication and looks forward to their future success.