15 CFB Students Awarded With Academic Honors From College Board National Recognition Programs

Fifteen CFBISD high school students have earned academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs. 

Students who take the PSAT/NMSQT and are African American, Hispanic American or Latinx, Indigenous, attend school in a rural area, or are from a small town, may be invited by the College Board to apply for academic recognition as part of the College Board National Recognition Programs. 

These programs grant students academic honors that can be included on college and scholarship applications and connect students with universities across the country, helping them stand out during the admissions process. 

Colleges and scholarship programs honor students with the following recognitions: National African American Recognition Award (NAARA), National Hispanic Recognition Award (NHRA), National Rural and Small Town Award (NRSTA) and National Indigenous Award (NIA).

CFBISD honorees are:

  • Alexis Ayala, Creekview HS - NHRA
  • Amber Clark, Creekview HS - NAARA
  • Douglas Starr, Creekview HS - NIA
  • Eric Rodriguez, Creekview HS - NHRA
  • Promise Bassey, Creekview HS - NAARA
  • Sam Ferrufino, Creekview HS - NHRA
  • Sasha Moon, Creekview HS - NAARA
  • Tamia Holman, Creekview HS - NAARA
  • Cat Zurita, Early College HS - NHRA
  • Gloria Luevano, Early College HS - NHRA
  • Frances Perez, R. L. Turner HS - NHRA
  • Justin Pacheco, R. L. Turner HS -  NHRA
  • Alejandra Diaz, Newman Smith HS - NHRA
  • Caylynn Wisner, Newman Smith HS - NAARA
  • Quentin Maese, Newman Smith HS - NHRA

To be eligible for these recognitions, the College Board has the following requirements:

  • Take the PSAT/NMSQT® in October of their junior year. 
  • Achieve the minimum requested PSAT/NMSQT scores (qualifying level may vary by state each year). 
  • Earn a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher by the middle of their junior year. 
  • Identify as African American, Hispanic or Latinx, Indigenous and/or attend school in a rural area or small town. 

Please visit the College Board’s website for more information.