AVID

What is AVID?

AVID, Advancement Via Individual Determination, is an elementary through post-secondary college readiness system that is designed to increase school-wide learning and performance. The AVID system accelerates student learning, uses research based methods of effective instruction, provides meaningful and motivational professional development, and acts as a catalyst for systemic reform and change. AVID’s mission is to close the opportunity gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society.

Although AVID serves all students, it focuses on the least served students in the academic middle.  The formula is simple – raise expectations of students and, with the AVID support system in place, they will rise to the challenge. Students participating in AVID are equipped with strategies and tools vital for post-secondary success.  Students take rigorous coursework and receive tutorial support to promote academic achievement.  What differentiates AVID from other educational reform programs is its astounding success rate. Since 1990, more than 85,500 AVID students have graduated from high school and planned to attend college. National data from the AVID Class of 2019 indicated that 93% of students completed four year college entrance requirements and 89% reported plans to attend a post-secondary institution. 

AVID is available at all middle schools except for Bush Middle School, and is available at all High Schools. For elementary, AVID is offered at McKamy, McWhorter, and Sheffield. 

In 2018, Ted Polk Middle School received the designation as an AVID National Demonstration School.   There are only 210 demonstration schools in the United States and only 49 in Texas who have received this honor. Demonstration schools must undergo a rigorous validation process and serve as exemplary models of the College Readiness System. 

avid
AVID Logo

Contact:
Jo Ann Gillen
AVID District Director
972.968.6584

Michelle Capener
Coordinator of School Counseling & AVID
972.968.6606

Katie Tilton
CCMR/AVID Secretary
972.968.6563

AVID in CFBISD

What is AVID?

AVID at a Glance

AVID Campus Coordinators

Campus Coordinator Coordinator Email
Blalack Janice Cordray cordrayj@cfbisd.edu
Field Taylor Renft renftt@cfbisd.edu
Long Christina Herrera herrerac@cfbisd.edu
Perry Temple Gonzalez gonzalezt@cfbisd.edu
Polk Richard Hyde hyder@cfbisd.ed
Creekview Emily Johnson johnsonem@cfbisd.edu
Early College Cindy Stubbs stubbsc@cfbisd.edu
Ranchview Tiffany Cherry cherryt@cfbisd.edu
Newman Smith Cindy Gillis gillisc@cfbisd.edu
R. L. Turner Lindsay Hatch hatchl@cfbisd.edu