The mission of the Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD Counseling Department is to equip all students with the academic, social-emotional, and college and career skills necessary for postsecondary success in a global society.

The Counseling Department works with counselors to deliver guidance curriculum, responsive counseling and behavior services, and course and graduation planning for all students to promote each student’s academic, career, personal and social growth.

JoAnn Gillen, Executive Director, C C M R

JoAnn Gillen
Chief of SEL & Postsecondary Readiness

Melanie Williams, Coordinator of School Counseling & AVID

Melanie Williams
Coordinator of School Counseling & AVID

Lyn Torres, Coordinator of Mental Health & Behavior Services

Lyn Torres
Director of Mental Health & Behavior Services

District Counseling Contacts

All phone numbers are 972.968 + Extension
name TITLE phone number
Katie Tilton Secretary-SEL & Postsecondary Readiness 972-968-6563
Tina Smith Employee Assistance Specialist 972-968-6681
Monica Belen Chemical Dependency Counselor 972-968-6680
Courtney Perkins District Crisis Counselor 972-968-4803
Shawne Poplar District Crisis Counselor 972-968-6469
Kim Rangel District Crisis Counselor 972-968-6559
Kristen Sultemeier District Crisis Counselor 972-968-5030
Meghan Shoemaker District Elementary Crisis Counselor 972-968-6500
Sylvia Mazuera SEL/Counseling Assistant 972-968-6564
Heidi Whitehill Chemical Dependency Counselor 972-968-6611
Debbie Fruithandler Special Projects 972-968-6691

Suicide & Crisis Lifeline (24 hours a day/7 days a week)

  • 988

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (24 hours a day/7 days a week)

  • English: 1-800-273-TALK (8255)
  • Spanish: 1-888-628-9454
  • Deaf/HoH: Dial 711, then 1-880-273-8255

Substance Abuse Mental Health Services Administration National Helpline (24 hours/7 days a week)

  • English/Spanish: 1-800-662-HELP (4357)               
  • Deaf/HoH: 1-800-487-4889

Crisis Text Line (24 hours a day/7 days a week)

  • Text HOME to 741741