CFBISD Honors Teachers of the Year at Annual Banquet

On Thursday, April 18, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD hosted its annual Teachers of the Year banquet to honor campus teachers of the year. District staff, Educational Foundation members, family and friends gathered at the Nancy Watten Event Center to celebrate the teachers for their dedication to their students and profession. 

The night was full of festivities for the teachers and their guests to enjoy.  An interactive photo booth allowed teachers to take fun photos with their guests. Musical performances from pianist Kelly Pfaffenberger, Creekview High School choir teacher and the Newman Smith HS Troy Singers served as entertainment.

Board of Trustees President Cassandra Hatfield gave remarks to congratulate the teachers on a job well done before dinner was served. After dinner, Superintendent Dr. Wendy Eldredge interacted with the crowd and presented each teacher with a signed autograph book. This keepsake book was for their students and colleagues to write messages commemorating this special year. 

The campus teachers of the year received awards onstage and were photographed with the CFB Board of Trustees. Following the individual recognitions, Dr. Eldredge announced the overall elementary and secondary winners.

Grace Schleigh Ginez of Rainwater Elementary was named CFB Elementary Teacher of the year. Ginez has been teaching in CFBISD for four years.

CFBISD Elementary Teacher of the Year—Grace Schleigh Ginez, Rainwater Elementary School

The Secondary Teacher of the Year was Micah Boyd of R.L. Turner High School. Boyd has been with CFB for eight years, all of those years teaching at Turner. 

CFBISD Secondary Teacher of the Year—Micah Boyd, R.L. Turner High School

“Our teachers of the year are the best of the best in our district,” said Dr. Wendy Eldredge, Superintendent of Schools. “These individuals pour their heart and soul into this profession. It is an honor to recognize these passionate individuals who go above and beyond every day for our students.”

Ginez and Boyd each received a cash award of $1,000—donated by Randolph Brooks Federal Credit Union. Both teachers will advance to compete for the Region 10 Teacher of the Year honors. To finish the evening’s celebrations, the CFB Educational Foundation awarded every honoree with a 50-dollar gift card to help support them in their educational pursuits. 

Congratulations to all of this year’s honorees. Photos from the event can be viewed HERE. 

2023-24 Elementary Campus Teachers of the Year:

  • Lana Jean Foley-Alexander, Blair ES
  • Mi Son Hwang, Blanton ES
  • Melissa Govea, Carrollton ES
  • Trang Nguyen, Central ES
  • Kaitlin Burns, Country Place ES
  • Julia Pena, Davis ES
  • Monica Ellison, Farmers Branch ES
  • Kristin Emlet, Freeman ES
  • Julia Anderson, Furneaux ES
  • Delicia Langford, Good ES
  • Tiffany Cervantes, Kent ES
  • Kasey Aiken, La Villita ES
  • Laurie Gruenloh, Landry ES
  • Fatima Mohammad, Las Colinas ES
  • Katie Cannon, McCoy ES
  • Jayla Williams, McKamy ES
  • Jenny Lupa Aguirre, McLaughlin Strickland ES
  • Stephanie Buckingham, McWhorter ES
  • Grace Schleigh Ginez, Rainwater ES
  • Theresa Castro, Riverchase ES
  • Venus Thomas, Rosemeade ES
  • Lucero Gallegos, Sheffield ES
  • Lilian Porras, Stark ES
  • Reina Renteria, Thompson ES
2023-24 Secondary Campus Teachers of the Year:
  • Allison Wimberley, Blalack MS
  • Tim Greenwell, Bush MS
  • Greg Thrasher, Field MS
  • Alan Quintana, Long MS
  • Ariadnne Saldivar, Perry MS
  • Brandon Golden, Polk MS
  • Emily Johnson, Creekview HS
  • Nabil Khawla, Early College HS
  • Sabrina Pace, Newman Smith HS
  • Anthony Johnston, Ranchview HS
  • Micha Boyd, R. L. Turner HS
  • Susan Stout, Grimes Education Center
  • Meghan Day, Salazar Learning Center