Board of Trustees

Duties of the Members

The Board of Education acts as the school district’s policy-making body and is the official representative of the people for all public education in the Carrollton-Farmers Branch Independent School District. The Board functions according to state and federal laws, regulations of the State Board of Education and the State Commissioner of Education and the will of the people as expressed in district elections.

The Board of Trustees, while composed of individuals, acts officially only as a group. No member, person or group of persons acts in the name of the Board except when authorized by the Board to do so.

Trustees serve without pay for overlapping terms of three years. Elections are conducted on the Texas Uniform Election Day in May. Candidates are elected by cumulative voting and do not represent certain geographical areas. Board officers are elected by its membership.

2020 Application and Election Timeline

The May 2, 2020 election was postponed to November 3, 2020 due to COVID.

Nancy Cline - President

Nancy Cline

Term 2017-2020

Guillermo William Ramos - Vice President

Guillermo William Ramos
Vice President

Term 2019-2022

Tara Hrbacek - Secretary

Tara Hrbacek

Term 2019-2022

Sally Derrck - Member

Sally Derrick 

Term 2018-2021

John Mathews - Member

John Mathews

Term 2018-2021

Randy Schackmann - Member

Randy Schackmann

Term 2019-2022